Civil Appeal Nos. 4235 of 2014 With IA Nos. 8255, 8240, 11702, 7354, 9216, 7345 of 2019, 167725, 185944, 15567, 12943, 171525, 170134, 168793, 169168 of 2018, 110244, 55731, 128645/2017 With Conmt.Pet.(C) No. 47 of 2017 In C.A. No. 4235 of 2014 W.P.(C) No. 287 of 2017 (PIL-W), 79 of 2019

Board of Control For Cricket In India & Others Versus Cricket Association Of Bihar & Others

14/03/2019

THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE S.A. BOBDE & THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE ABHAY MANOHAR SAPRE

For the Appearing Parties: P.S. Narasimha, Sr. (A.C.), V.C. Shukla, Sindoora VNL, Rahul G. Tanwani, M. P. Vinod, AOR, K.V. Viswanthan, Sr. Advocate, Ranjith K.C., AOR, Absilash K.N., Kapil Sibal, Sr. Advocate, P.R. Raman, Sr. Advocate, Amol Chitale, Nirnimesh Dube, AOR, Tushar Mehta, ASG, Puneet Taneja, AOR, Laxmi Kumari, Neeraj Shekhar, AOR, Gaurav Sharma, AOR, R. Chandrachud, Nitin Thukral, Karan Sharma, Atul Kumar - Applicant-in-Person, Senthil Jagadeesan, AOR, Abhishek Singh, AOR, Shresth Arya, Pragyan Sharma, Mudit Makhijani, Shikhar Garg, Gagan Gupta, AOR, Jana Kalyan Das, Sr. Advocate, Sandeep D. Das, Kritika Agrawal, S. C. Sudhir, Anusha Nagarajan, Sachin Datta, Sr. Advocate, Vikas Mehta, AOR, Rajat Sehgal, Vasanth Bharani, Pai Amit, AOR, Anish R. Shah, AOR, Rauf Rahim, AOR, Pai Amit, AOR, Rahat Bansal, Venkita Subramonium T.R., AOR, Petal Chandhok, Gaichangpou Gangmei, AOR, Rashmi Singh, AOR, Venkita Subramoniam T.R, AOR, Manju Sharma, AOR, A. S. Bhasme, AOR, E. C. Agrawala, AOR, Raghavendra S. Srivatsa, AOR, Balaji Srinivasan, AOR, Sampath Kumar, Garima Jain, Siddhant Kohli, Pallavi Sengupta, Puneet Bali, Gunjan Rishi, Aditya Soni, Shree Pal Singh, AOR, Neela Gokhale, Kamakshi S. Mehlwal, AOR, Mukesh Kumar Maroria, AOR, Praveen Swarup, AOR, Liz Mathew, AOR, M.F. Philip, Anshuman Ashok, AOR, Tushar Mehta, Ld. SG (Sr.) Advocate, Neela Gokhale, Shradha Agrawal, Ilam Paridi, Kamakshi S. Mehlwal, AOR, Tushar Mehta, Sr. Advocate, Siddharth Garg, Pratishtha Vij, Snehasish Mukherjee, AOR, V. K. Biju, AOR, Amol Chitale, Pragya Baghel, AOR, P.S. Patwalia, Sr. Advocate, Siddharth Garg, Pratishtha Vij, Snehasish Mukherjee, AOR, Vasundhara Pathak Masoodi, K. Krishna Kumar, K. K. Mohan, AOR, Shreepal Singh, AOR, Ashis Mohan, K. K. Mohan, AOR, Rajiv Nanda, AOR, Sarvesh Singh, AOR, Chirag M. Shroff, AOR, Neha Sangwan, Gagan Gupta, AOR, Sonia Mathur, AOR, Ritesh Kumar Chowdhary, AOR, Chandra Bhushan Prasad, AOR, Aditya Verma, AOR, Shrey Patnaik, Maninder Singh, Sr. Advocate, Aruna Mathur, Tejveer Bhutia, Rohan Swarup, Retika Talwar, Avneesh Arputham, Anuradha Arputham, M/S. Arputham Aruna And Co, AOR, R. Chandrachud, AOR, Nitin Thukral, Karan Sharma, Bina Gupta, AOR, Maninder Singh, ASG, Tejveer Bhatia, Prabhas Bajaj, Parangat Pandey, Ashita Chawla, Rameshwar Prasad Goyal, AOR, Santosh Mishra, AOR, Raghenth Basant, Santosh Kumar - I, AOR, Raghav Mehrotra, R. Basant, Sr. Advocate, Pai Amit, AOR, Rahat Bansal, Pankhuri Bhardwaj, Deeptakirti Verma, AOR, M. Yogesh Kanna, AOR, S. Partha Sarathi, S. Raja Rajeshwaran, , Tamali Wad, AOR, Vikas Singh Jangra, AOR, Anupam Lal Das, Ishan Bisht, Angaj Gautam, Rahul Pratap, AOR, Tushar Mehta, Ld. SG, R. Balasubramanian, Puneet Taneja, Anil Katiyar, AOR, Parag P. Tripathi, Sr. Advocate, Chander Uday Singh, Sr. Advocate, Gauri Rasgotra,

Indranil Deshmukh, Vikash Kumar Jha, Adarsh Saxena, Vimeet Unnikrishnan, Nikitha Shenoy, Rishabh Kapur, Amjid Maqbool, M/s. Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas Aor, AOR, Gaurav Kejriwal, AOR, Kabir Hathi, Jesal Wahi, AOR, Hrishikesh Baruah, AOR, Hemant Phulphar, Parth Goswami, Rashmi Malhotra, AOR, Himanshu Kaushik, Sonam Sharma, Ruchi Kohli, AOR, Nidhi Jaswal, Avijit Mani Tripathi, AOR, Dr. Monika Gusain, AOR, Ashok Panigrahi, AOR, Anmol Tayal, S. Vinay Ratnakar, Niki Kantawala, Uttara Babbar, AOR, Bhavana Duhoon, Manan Bansal, Gourab Banerji, Sr. Advocate, Sahil Tagotra, AOR, Subhro P. Mukherji, Raka Chatterjee, Mohit Pandey, D.N. Goburdhun, Balendu Shekhar, Gauri Goburdhun, Pallavi Chopra, Reepak Kansal, Yadunandan Bansal, Ravinder Kumar, Pratik R. Bombarde, AOR, S.B. Upadhyay, Sr. Advocate, Neeraj Shekhar, AOR, Sumit Kumar, Animesh Kumar, Ashutosh Thakur, Shikhar Garg, Nishtha Kumar, AOR, Kaustubh Shukla, Abhay Singh, Azim H. Laskar, Sachin Das, Chandra Bhushan Prasad, Advocates.

ORDER

When the matter was taken up today, Mr. P.S. Narasimha, learned Amicus Curiae, has pointed out two issues before this Court viz., (a) One is regarding applications for rectification of the Registered BCCI Constitution and (b) another is regarding applications for release of funds.

As far as issue (a) is concerned, we consider it appropriate to request Mr. Narasimha, learned Amicus Curiae to look into this matter and make appropriate recommendations to the Committee of Administrators (CoA). In case the parties are not satisfied with those recommendations, they may approach this Court for passing appropriate orders.

As far as issue (b) is concerned, it is pointed out that certain applications for release of funds have been filed by the Cricket Associations of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Saurashtra, Himachal Pradesh and Kerala and some others. We request Mr. Narasimha, learned Amicus Curiae to look into this matter and make appropriate recommendations to the Committee of Administrators (CoA) before the next date of hearing.

Mr. Parag P. Tripathi, learned Senior Counsel appearing for the Committee of Administrators, states that it will take adequate/appropriate steps to protect the Pune Stadium of Maharashtra Cricket Association and discharge the liability in respect thereof.

By consent of all the parties, Mr. P.S. Narasimha, learned Amicus Curiae, is appointed by this Court to act as a Mediator in relation to any dispute that might arise in the instant interlocutory applications pending before us. Fee of the learned Mediator shall be paid by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Till Mr. Narasimha, learned Amicus Curiae, submits a report, we consider it desirable that no Court/Tribunal in India shall entertain or proceed with any matter pertaining to BCCI or any State Cricket Association(s) involved.

List these matters except Writ Petition (Civil) No.79/2019 and I.A. No.31 of 2017 in C.A. No.4235 of 2014, at 2 P.M. on 11.4.2019, 25.04.2019, and 02.05.2019 before the same Special Bench.

Writ Petition (Civil) No.79/2019

Heard.

The only prayer which is pressed on behalf of the petitioners viz., Kerala Cricket Association and another in the instant writ petition is that a direction be issued to register the amended bye-laws of the Kerala Cricket Association (for short, the 'KCA') which according to them, are in accordance with the judgment and order of this Court dated 9.8.2018 in Civil Appeal No.4235 of 2014. The amended bye-laws are said to have been approved by the Committee of Administrators (CoA).

The Registrar is accordingly directed to register the aforesaid amended bye-laws of KCA under the Travancore-Cochin Literary, Scientific and Charitable Societies Registration Act, 1955, in accordance with law.

Learned counsel appearing for the State of Kerala shall communicate this order to the concerned Registrar forthwith.

With the aforesaid directions, the instant writ petition is disposed of.

As a sequel to the above, pending interlocutory applications, if any, stand disposed of.

I.A. No.31 of 2017 in C.A. No.4235 of 2014

In view of the above order passed in Writ Petition (Civil) No.79/2019, the instant interlocutory application is disposed of.